Physicians' Proposal

PNHP note: to view the most recent version of the Physicians' Proposal, published May 5, 2016, please click here.

The Physicians' Proposal for National Health Insurance establishes the vision and principles of a single-payer health system for the United States. The document was composed by a distinguished group of physician leaders*, and secured the endorsement of 8,000 physicians by the time of its publication in the August 13, 2003 in JAMA.

The text outlines the general structure of the single-payer plan: eligibility and coverage, physician and outpatient care payment, global budgeting of hospitals, the establishment of a national long-term care program, planned capital investment and single-payer financing.

Read the Executive Summary of the Physicians' Proposal

Read the Physicians' Proposal

An Invitation to Endorse the Physicians' Proposal (pdf)

Endorse the Physicians' Proposal

View Proposal As Published in JAMA (pdf)

*Members of the Physicians' Working Group for Single-Payer National Health Insurance:

Marcia Angell, MD
Past Editor | New England Journal of Medicine
Senior Lecturer in Social Medicine | Harvard Medical School

Quentin Young, MD
National Coordinator | Physicians for a National Health Program
Past President | American Public Health Association

Joel Alpert, MD
Past President | American Academy of Pediatrics

Ron Anderson, MD
President and CEO | Parkland Health & Hospital System

Peter Beilenson, MD, MPH
Commissioner | Department of Health, Baltimore City

Olveen Carrasquillo, MD, MPH
Advisory Committee Member | National Hispanic Medical Association

Christine Cassell, MD
Past President | American College of Physicians

Elinor Christiansen, MD
Past President | American Medical Women's Association

Gary Dennis, MD
Past President | National Medical Association

David Himmelstein, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine | Harvard Medical School

Rodney Hood, MD
President | National Medical Association

Edith Rasell, MD, PhD
Minister for Labor Relations and Community Economic Development | United Church of Christ

Helen Rodriguez-Trias, MD (deceased)
Past President | American Public Health Association

Sindhu Srinivas, MD
National President | American Medical Student Association

Gerald Thomson, MD
Past President | American College of Physicians

Walter Tsou, MD, MPH
Past President | American Public Health Association

Steffie Woolhandler, MD, MPH
Associate Professor of Medicine | The Cambridge Hospital/Harvard Medical School